1980 – 1989 Schools Timeline Categories: Schools Timelines: Historical Timeline

1980 Orana Catholic School, Willetton, staffed by the Loreto Sisters, opened. 

1981 Xavier College was created by the amalgamation of St Francis Christian Brothers’ College and Our Lady Help of Christians School, East Victoria Park. 

1981 At the request of the local people, the Lombadina Government School was returned to the Catholic system and staffed by the Infant Jesus Sisters until they departed the Kimberley in 1985. The Loreto Sisters took charge of the school in 1986, but subsequently withdrew. The school is now known as Djarindjin Lombadina Catholic School. 

1982 St Joseph’s Primary School, Bunbury, originally founded by the Sisters of Mercy, was relocated to Glen Paddon. 

1982 Assumption Catholic Primary School, Mandurah, opened. 

1983 The De La Salle Brothers and the Sisters of Mercy collaborated to staff Luurnpa Catholic School at Balgo Hills, servicing the Wirrimanu community. It had previously operated as a mission school and a Government school. 

1984 John Paul College, Kalgoorlie was created out of the amalgamation of Prendiville Catholic College and the Christian Brothers’ College, Kalgoorlie. 

1984 Lumen Christi College, Martin, opened. 

1985 The Aboriginal community at Yaruman/Ringer Soak welcomed two Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart. The Birlirr Ngawiyiwu Catholic School began under a bough shed. 

1985 Yidarra Catholic Primary School, Bateman, opened. 

1985 Padbury Catholic Primary School opened. 

1986 Bateman Catholic Secondary School, Bateman changed its name to Corpus Christi College. 

1986 Salvado College became New Norcia Catholic College, with the Good Samaritan Sisters taking over the administration and teaching in the school. 

1986 St Clare’s School was relocated to North Perth, East Perth, Wembley and finally to Lathlain. 

1986 Clontarf Aboriginal College opened on the site of the old orphanage, which was closed in 1983. 

1986 Prendiville Catholic College, Ocean Reef, opened. 

1986 Leschenault Catholic Primary School opened. 

1986 Aranmore Catholic College was created by the amalgamation of Christian Brothers’ College, Leederville and the Sisters of Mercy’s St Mary’s High School. 

1987 Warlawurru Catholic School, Red Hill at Halls Creek was opened and staffed by the Canossian Daughters of Charity. The Sisters withdrew in 1992 and were replaced by the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart. 

1987 St Luke’s Secondary College, Karratha, opened. 

1987 St Luke’s Catholic Primary School, Woodvale, opened on a temporary site at Liwara Catholic Primary School. It opened on its permanent site in 1988. 

1987 St Simon Peter School opened on a temporary site at Whitford Catholic Primary School. It was opened on its permanent site at Ocean Reef in 1988. 

1989 Kolbe Catholic College, Rockingham, opened. 

1989 Chisholm Catholic College, Bedford, a co-educational institution, opened as a result of the amalgamation of St Mark’s Christian Brothers’ College for Boys and St Thomas Aquinas School for Girls founded by the Dominican Sisters. 

Source Continuity in Change, Phillip Pendal