CECWA commemorate 500th meeting

09 November 2017

The Catholic Education Commission of Western Australia (CECWA) held their 500th meeting on Friday, 3 November, at the Catholic Education Centre in Leederville.

Commissioners were presented with a copy of the original agenda and minutes documents of the first meeting, which also convened on 3 November, in 1970, at De Vialar College, Hilton Park (now Seton Catholic College after an amalgamation with St Brendan’s College in 1989). The Catholic Education Commission met on this date under the name of the ‘Ways and Means Committee’.

Following the official proceedings of the 500th meeting, a photograph was taken of the commissioners and a commemorative cake was cut.

Membership of Catholic Education Commission Ways and Means Committee, 3 November 1970

  • Bishop P Quinn
  • Br W Hall
  • Br J Kelly
  • Sr M Carmel
  • Sr M Roberta
  • Sr M Gemma
  • Fr D Hughes
  • Fr J Nestor
  • Dr P Tannock

Membership of CECWA, November 2017-11-08

  • Bishop Gerard Holohan – Chair
  • Dr Debra Sayce
  • Bishop Don Sproxton
  • Sr Marion Beard
  • Br Kevin Paull
  • Mr Wayne Bull
  • Mrs Helen O’Toole
  • Mrs Helen Anderson
  • Mr Paul Rafferty
  • Dr Chris Hackett
  • Associate Professor Clive Walley – Chair Aboriginal Community Sub-Committee
  • Fr Michael Morrissey – Chair Audit and Risk Sub-Committee
  • Dr Joan Squelch – Chair, Curriculum Sub-Committee
  • Mrs Sonia Faccin Nolan – Chair Catholic Education Community Sub-Committee
  • Professor Glennda Scully – Chair Finance Sub-Committee

Share this article.



End of Year Message

St gerards parliament BANNER

St Gerard’s student leaders spend afternoon at Parliament House


50 years of rich history and tradition celebrated by Bunbury alumni