Outstanding initiatives and longstanding commitment celebrated at Staff Breakfast

20 October 2021

More than 300 CEWA staff from across the Archdiocese of Perth and beyond gathered at the annual Staff Breakfast in Perth on Friday, 15 October 2021. 

Held in October in recognition of the anniversary of the canonisation of St Mary MacKillop, the breakfast event celebrated the outstanding individual commitment of staff members who had served 30 or 40 years in Catholic education in WA, as well as the excellence of initiatives nominated for the Quality Catholic Education Awards. 

Joining guests from CEWA schools and offices was Minister for Education and Training, the Honourable Sue Ellery MLC, who presented the QCE (Quality Catholic Education) Awards, for this second year of the Awards program.

Staff members from Santa Maria College with their QCE Award and Minister for Education and Training, the Hon Sue Ellery MLC, at the CEWA Staff Breakfast on 15 October, 2021.

2021 QCE Award winners were St Anne’s School, Harvey, and Lumen Christi College, Martin for the Catholic Identity category; Sacred Heart Primary School, Highgate and Santa Maria College, Attadale, in Education; St Matthew’s School, Narrogin and Mazenod College, Lesmurdie for the Community awards; and St Mary’s College, Broome, for Stewardship. 

A fifth award category, Faith in the Future, was added for 2021, a year in which Catholic school communities have been celebrating 200 years of Catholic Education in Australia, and 50 years of CEWA as a single state-wide system, with St Peter’s Primary School, Inglewood and Holy Cross College, Ellenbrook named winners of this category. 

As with the inaugural QCE Awards in 2020, a People’s Choice Award was part of the program, increasing community engagement with the nominated projects, and garnering more than 6000 votes from school community members and the public – Mother Teresa Catholic College, Baldivis, took out this category. 

Video profiles on all of the winning initiatives are online at the CEWA Awards website (and a full list of award recipients is below). 

Following the presentation of the QCE Awards, staff members who had worked 30 or more years in the CEWA system were recognised for their dedication, with Executive Director Dr Debra Sayce presenting them with framed certificates, followed by the presentation of medallions and framed certificates to those staff members who had served 40 years or more. 

Ms Nicola Lee, Principal of Sacred Heart School, Beagle Bay, spoke on behalf of the service award recipients, reflecting on her years involved in Catholic school communities across the state.

CEWA staff members who have worked for 30 years in Catholic education, with their certificates of recognition at the CEWA Staff Breakfast on 15 October, 2021

Rose Fogarty, from Catholic School Parents WA, also joined the event to present the organisation’s Award of Excellence for Building Positive School Communities to Toni Kalat, Principal at Mater Christi Catholic Primary School in Yangebup.

Toni was nominated alongside three other principals, for their efforts in building positive and vibrant school communities: Gina Burns, from St Paul’s Primary School in Karratha; Paul Cronin, from St Mary’s Catholic Primary School in Bunbury; and Paula McKenzie, from St Brigid’s Primary School in Middle Swan.


2021 QCE Award winners and merit certificates 


Primary years winner: St Anne’s School, Harvey for St Anne’s Community Kitchen  

Secondary years winner: Lumen Christi College, Martin for Year of St Joseph Project 

Primary merit awards: St Peter’s Primary School, Inglewood for Vinnies WA Inquiry Project; Orana Catholic Primary School, Willetton for ‘To Give is to Receive’ in Action 

Secondary merit award: La Salle College, Middle Swan for Touching Hearts: 5,000 Meals Program 


Primary years winner: Sacred Heart Primary School, Highgate for STEM Engagement Initiative 

Secondary years winner: Santa Maria College, Attadale for WRITE!  

Primary merit awards: Sacred Heart Primary School, Thornlie for Student Voice through Podcasting; Salvado Catholic College, Byford for Kaartdijin - A Journey of Teaching, Learning, Living 

Secondary merit awards: Sacred Heart College, Sorrento for Independent Learning Days; St Joseph’s School, Northam for The Hub 


Primary years winner: St Matthew’s School, Narrogin for Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds at St Matthew’s School, Narrogin 

Secondary years winner: Mazenod College, Lesmurdie for Welcome to My Country 

Primary merit awards: St Mary’s School, Northampton for Faith in Action following Cyclone Seroja; Ngalangangpum School, Warmun for 40th Year Celebration Book Project; St Joseph’s School, Waroona for Transforming lives at St Joseph’s Waroona 

Secondary merit awards: Lumen Christi College, Martin for National Reconciliation Week 2021 – More than a word. Reconciliation takes action; Mercy College, Koondoola for Season’s Garden 


Primary years winner: St Mary’s College, Broome for St Mary’s College Waste Warriors 

Primary merit award: St Kieran Catholic Primary School, Tuart Hill for St Kieran Waste Watchers Sustainability Program 


Primary years winner: St Peter’s Primary School, Inglewood for Faith Story through a Sustainable Mural  

Secondary years winner: Holy Cross College, Ellenbrook for The Eye of Justice and Service Labyrinth 

Primary merit award: Infant Jesus School, Morley for We Journey Together 

Secondary merit award: St Clare’s School, Lathlain for A trail-blazing alternative school in Catholic Education, WA 


Winner: Mother Teresa Catholic College, Baldivis for Just Keep Drawing 

Share this article.



2022 QCE Awards, a celebration of student’s commitment to Christian leadership

CHRIST THE KING CPS_2022_PhotographyByMattBiocich-89-1920

Mobile maker labs allow students to tinker and learn


Start of term message: Debra Sayce