1990 – 1999 Schools Timeline Categories: Schools Timelines: Historical Timeline

1990 Mary MacKillop Catholic Community Primary School, Ballajura, opened. 

1990 Wandalgu Catholic Primary School re-opened as a Catholic school in Tardun. It had previously been a Pallottine Mission School, before being taken over by the Education Department in 1960. Two Dominican Sisters were employed to teach at the school. 

1990 South Lake Catholic Primary School opened. It was renamed Mary MacKillop Catholic Primary School in 1991 and was relocated to Yangebup in 1994. In 2000 it was renamed Mater Christi Catholic Primary School. 

1990 Ursula Frayne Catholic College opened as a result of the amalgamation of St Joachim’s and Xavier College. 

1990 Seton Catholic College opened as a result of the amalgamation of De Vialar College, Hilton and St Brendan’s College. The College originally operated on both sites but was consolidated on the old De Vialar site in 1996. 

1991 Good Shepherd Catholic School, Lockridge, opened. 

1991 Matthew Gibney Catholic Primary School, High Wycombe, opened. 

1991 Gibb River Catholic Primary School opened with two Sisters of Our Lady of the Missions who taught there until 2000. The school became known as Wanalirri Catholic School. 

1992 Mandurah Catholic College opened. 

1992 St Cecilia’s School, Port Hedland, was extended to Year 10 and the name changed to St Cecilia’s College. 

1992 Mater Dei Catholic College, Joondalup, opened. 

1992 The two sites of Bunbury Catholic Primary (St Mary’s and St Joseph’s) became separate primary schools. 

1993 Our Lady of the Sea Catholic Primary School, Esperance, opened. 

1993 St Thomas More Catholic Primary School, Margaret River, opened. 

1994 Kearney College, Bindoon changed its name to Christian Agricultural College, Bindoon. 

1994 Nagle Catholic College, Geraldton, was established by the amalgamation of Stella Maris College and St Patrick’s Secondary College. 

1994 Collie Catholic College was created by the amalgamation of St Edmund’s College and St Brigid’s Primary, Collie.  In 2003 the primary school reverted to its original name of St Brigid’s. 

1994 MacKillop Catholic College, Busselton, opened. 

1994 St Bernadette’s Catholic Primary School, Port Kennedy, opened. 

1995 St Mary’s College, Broome was created by the amalgamation of St Mary’s Primary School and Nulungu Catholic Secondary School. 

1995 The Dominican Sisters and the Marist Brothers agreed to amalgamate two separately administered colleges under one principal and with co-governors. The new establishment was designated as Newman College (Doubleview campus) and Newman College (Churchlands campus). 

1995 Currambine Catholic Primary School opened. St Simon Peter Catholic Primary School, Ocean Reef, hosted the school’s classes until the new building was completed. 

1996 A community school opened at La Djardarr Bay on the Dampier Peninsula with a Sister of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart. The school closed within two years with the relocation of the entire population. 

1996 Our Lady of the Cape Catholic Primary School, Dunsborough, opened. 

1996 The New Norcia Education Centre opened with units in Aboriginal culture and history taught to children from schools in Perth and country centres. 

1997 St Andrew’s Catholic Primary School, Clarkson, opened. 

1999 St Helena’s Catholic Primary School, Ellenbrook, opened. 

1999 Emmanuel Catholic College, Beeliar, opened. It was known as Beeliar Catholic College in 1999 only. 

Source Continuity in Change, Phillip Pendal