New sub-committees to support CECWA in 2017

01 December 2016


Catholic Education Western Australia is set to benefit from improved governance practices following the implementation of new Catholic Education Commission of WA (CECWA) Sub-Committees in 2017.

The Sub-Committees will advise CECWA on strategic focus areas, which reflect its Terms of Reference according to the Bishops’ Mandate.

Membership of the Sub-Committees will include independent, expert and diverse experience to ensure accountability and oversee the sustainability of the Catholic education system into the future. Catholic Education System Leaders (Principals) will be important members of these Sub-Committees, offering their experience, on-the-job complexity of issues and system-wide understanding of Catholic education.

The new CECWA Sub-Committees are:

  • Aboriginal Community (with Regional Catholic Education Aboriginal Committees)
  • Audit and Risk
  • Catholic Education Community
  • Curriculum
  • Finance

The Sub-Committees will be chaired by independent members of CECWA.

This change marks an exciting new chapter in the growth of CEWA, as CECWA moves from being a Board of Management to a Board of Governance, which will oversee the system through clearly defined focus areas and plan more strategically for the future.




Share this article.



End of Term Three Message


Japanese exchange students immerse in Kolbe community culture during visit

Safeguarding BANNER PIC

2023 Child Protection Week: Every child at WA schools given a ‘fair go’