Quality education on show as Education Minister presents CEWA awards

16 October 2020

Innovation, care, commitment to learning and wellbeing, and community spirit were celebrated this morning with the presentation of the inaugural Quality Catholic Education (QCE) Awards.

WA Minister for Education and Training, the Honourable Sue Ellery MLC, joined Catholic Education Western Australia (CEWA) school staff and system leaders at the awards ceremony today, presenting eight awards across the categories of Catholic Identity, Education, Community and Stewardship, as well as the People’s Choice Award.

Minister for Education and Training, the Hon Sue Ellery MLC, with Corpus Christi College, who won a QCE Award for Stewardship.

The QCE Awards, which take the place of the previous annual CEWA awards program, received a record 83 entries in 2020, from CEWA schools across the State.

Holy Cross College in Ellenbrook won two QCE Awards, in the Catholic Identity and Education categories.

CEWA Executive Director, Dr Debra Sayce, said that projects and initiatives nominated for the QCE Awards demonstrated the extraordinary ways CEWA schools were supporting learning, growth and faith formation for students, school staff and communities.

“It’s essential that we bring forward the best ideas and innovations to support new and more effective strategies in our schools,

“I acknowledge the outstanding achievements of all the 2020 QCE Award winners, and all of the schools and staff members who nominated – our schools have done wonderful work this year, under extraordinary circumstances, to provide students with support, stability, and excellent learning opportunities,” Dr Sayce said.

Congratulations to the 2020 QCE Award winners:

Catholic Identity


  • Infant Jesus School, Morley: The Power of One


  • Holy Cross College, Ellenbrook: LifeLink Sleepout @ Home

Merit Awards

  • Our Lady’s Assumption School, Dianella: Walk for Water
  • Nagle Catholic College, Geraldton: Camino Salvado



  • Holy Rosary School, Derby: Bush Kindy


  • Holy Cross College, Ellenbrook: Virtual School Production

Merit Awards

  • Padbury Catholic Primary School, Padbury: Aboriginal People’s Exhibition
  • Edmund Rice College, Bindoon: Co-teaching model for a student cohort with diverse needs



  • St Anthony’s School, Wanneroo: Wrap around initiatives for student wellbeing


  • Mother Teresa Catholic College, Baldivis: MTCC Community Fair

Merit Awards

  • St Mary’s School, Northampton: Community Spaces Initiative
  • St Norbert College, Queens Park: The Be-YOU-tiful Project



  • St Emilie’s Catholic Primary School, Canning Vale: St Emilie’s Bush Forever Journey


  • Corpus Christi College, Bateman: Stewardship in Action

Merit Awards

  • St Damien’s Catholic Primary School, Dawesville: We Started with ‘Why’
  • Prendiville Catholic College, Ocean Reef: Prendiville Pathways to Success

People’s Choice Award

  • Trinity College, East Perth: Environmental Committee

Share this article.



School opening in 2025 will be named St Marcellin Catholic College

CEWA_CommissioningMass_2024_PhotographyByMattBiocich-5 copy

Newly commissioned school staff challenged to model Jesus in their roles


Executive Director’s start of year message