Sacred Heart College students win prestigious WA da Vinci Decathlon

09 May 2017

At the end of Term 1, Sacred Heart College entered teams from Years 7, 8, 9 and 10 into categories in the WA da Vinci Decathlon, a distinguished academic competition.

The prestigious competition is designed to challenge and stimulate the minds of school students, as well as celebrate the academic gifts of Australian youth. Winning the Decathlon is highly coveted and many of Perth’s top schools participate. This year 26 schools participated, including 12 Independent schools, nine Catholic secondary schools and five government schools.

Throughout the day, the teams of eight worked together across ten disciplines: Engineering, Mathematics and Chess, Codebreaking, Art and Poetry, Science, English, Philosophy, Creative Producers, Cartography, General Knowledge and Ideology.

Both Sacred Heart College’s Year 8 and Year 10 teams won the WA competition, and will now go on to represent the state at the National final in Sydney in June.

Congratulations to the schools and winning team members on this wonderful achievement! Also to the school’s Head of Gifted and Talented Education, Mrs Tanya Atherton, whose energy and enthusiasm continues to inspire students to be the best they can.

Below details the participating team members and their results in each section:

YEAR 7 TEAM (9th overall, 1st in Creative Producers and 2nd in Art and Poetry):
Finn Fogarty, Alexandra Mennie, Tim Southgate, Alex Stewart, Ella West, Nick Emes, Adam Lewis and Meaghan Emery.

YEAR 8 TEAM (1st overall and in Art and Poetry, Cartography, General Knowledge and English):
Kai Schlegl, Elizabeth Martin, Salina Re, Monica Olea, Anthony Bulich, Belinda Gill and Matilda Anthony.

YEAR 9 TEAM (2nd overall, 1st in Engineering and 2nd in Ideology):
Lucy Burke, Lara Woodward, Sofia Gibson, Connor Ougan, Brendan Craig, Euan Hough, Mitchell Simpson and Natasha Re, who was competing up a year.

YEAR 10 TEAM (1st overall, 1st in English, Creative Producers, Ideology and 2nd in Maths):
Paula Gomez, Josephine Campbell, Imogen Trewhella, Rosie Welsh, Sophia Gibson, Cian Rodriguez, Declan Williams and Mitchell Williams.

Share this article.



2022 QCE Awards, a celebration of student’s commitment to Christian leadership

CHRIST THE KING CPS_2022_PhotographyByMattBiocich-89-1920

Mobile maker labs allow students to tinker and learn


Start of term message: Debra Sayce